//
you're reading...
Preparations, Spain

The countdown begins


Welcome to my newest blog! I was struggling to decide between using WordPress and Tumblr for my study abroad blog(s) but finally decided to go with WordPress. All the pages, comments, features, and sheer flexibility of this platform will make it easier for me to document both trips abroad.

Both? Well, folks, I’m going to study abroad in two places. That’s right, two.

I will be studying in Spain for five weeks in June and then, hopefully, will be going to Scotland for a semester in January 2012.

I’m super excited as you may well guess. It’s going to be a wild year, as I travel through Europe and will be as intimately integrated into new cultures as I’ll probably ever be.

But to get down to business, I’m going to Spain first. Why Spain? My answer is on this page, but here’s a relevant quote:

I first traveled to Spain when I was fifteen with my uncle. I fell in love with the country, the architecture,  the films of Pedro Almodóvar, the delicious food.

I knew I wanted to study in a Spanish-speaking country and was angling for Latin America for a semester until I realized that my major (English Literature and Creative Writing) wasn’t conducive to a full semester in a non-English-speaking country. Thus, I settled on five weeks studying Spanish through ASC Summer in Spain.

My passport was renewed last year; my plane tickets are purchased. My health forms and other documentation have already been taken care of. The main things I have left to do is:

1.)  Get my financial and communications stuff taken care of.

2.)  Continue studying Spanish language and culture.

3.)  Find  last-minute necessities like a roomy, pocket-y, zippered carry-on bag.

4.)  Check the weather and other news in Spain.

5.)  Pack.

Here’s the Lonely Planet guidebook I checked out of the library!

Me with trusty Lonely Planet!

I fly out of Memphis on May 30. I’ll arrive on May 31. Fourteen days until I set foot in Spain!

About Anna Cabe

I'm your average over-stressed Asian-American overachiever, your typical moderately talented wannabe writer, your everyday nerd with subpar social skills. I'm pretty boring really.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The countdown begins

  1. Such an exciting adventure.Spain has a rich culture, vast selection of food and great art– keep the blog coming, I’m eagerly awaiting to read it.

    Posted by claudine | June 4, 2011, 2:28 pm

Leave a Reply

My comments do not represent the views, positions, or opinions of the Fulbright Program, any of its partner institutions, or the United States Department of State.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other followers

Archives

May 2011
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
