//
you're reading...
Preparations, Spain

Day 2: Info-ache and Baby-jumping


Confession time:  I have not taken a Spanish class in a year.

Grammar is NOT my friend. courtesy of studyspanish.com

Probably not my best decision — relooking at the subjunctive on this handy website is making my head spin. So. Many. Uses.  And. Rules. And. Phrases.

I mean, I could make all the excuses:  not enough time, it’s not really key to my major and minor (English and Political Science), I watch tons of movies in the Spanish language (Gael García Bernal and Javier Bardem, yum), etc. Still, not having had consistent exposure to both the written and spoken language is probably going to hurt me.

But that’s why I’m going to Spain, right? To get that exposure? Learning Spanish was still pretty difficult even when I was taking Spanish because I didn’t get 24/7 immersion. Won’t being forced to read, write, listen to, and speak Spanish all the time help?

Hopefully, it will. The Spanish language is not the only thing giving me an info-ache, as I like to call it, though. That Lonely Planet guidebook is a killer, a 909-page killer, and that’s excluding the index and acknowledgements. I mostly have to skim that thing, and I still am worried nothing is really sticking.

Except for this under festivals in June:

Feast of Corpus Cristi

On the Thursday in the ninth week after Easter, religious processions and celebrations take place in Toledo and other cities. The strangest celebrations are the baby-jumping tradition of Castrillo de Murcia. . .

Say what?

Apparently, since 1620, the approximately 250 inhabitants of this village line up all their babies (up to six) on  a mattress. Then, adult men dressed up as “El Colacho,” who represents the devil, jump over them.

This is supposed to ward off the devil. How? I don’t know, but according to this super-recent (as of March) guidebook, no baby has ever been injured or so claims the village.

I’ll take their word for it.

About Anna Cabe

I'm your average over-stressed Asian-American overachiever, your typical moderately talented wannabe writer, your everyday nerd with subpar social skills. I'm pretty boring really.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Day 2: Info-ache and Baby-jumping

  1. Yeah, Spanish is not the kind of language that you can just open a language dictionary and speak fluently. Conjugations. Ouch.

    Posted by Jadoyoal | May 18, 2011, 4:05 pm
  2. I hope the jumpers are practiced professionals, and I hope those are some thin babies…

    Posted by Flyingthaiguy | May 18, 2011, 4:27 pm
  3. I will be adding professional baby jumper to my resume.

    Good luck with the Spanish! You’ll get to learn so many things you could never learn from a dictionary (slang, etc) while you’re there–it’ll be amazing! Am jealous, obviously. 🙂

    Posted by Anahita | May 18, 2011, 7:41 pm

Leave a Reply

My comments do not represent the views, positions, or opinions of the Fulbright Program, any of its partner institutions, or the United States Department of State.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other followers

Archives

May 2011
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
