//
you're reading...
Accommodations, Spain

En Madrid: Parte Uno


Mi cuarto en mi hotel

May 31 – June 4, 2011

¡Hola, toda la gente! I just learned how to do upside-down exclamation and question marks on my Mac, so you’ll see those more often. In other news, I finally have consistent WiFi, so expect to see all my posts from Madrid and my first few days in Oviedo in the next week or so. Madrid and Toledo, unfortunately, will not be in order, as I have chosen to do them by theme as opposed to date, except for Toledo.

But let’s start with mi cuarto.

We stayed at the Hotel NH Alberto Aguilera in Madrid. It is a contemporary hotel with patient staff and  a large, delicious breakfast buffet (puts American hotels to shame), but the rooms were muy, muy pequeño.

I shared a room with Vicki:

¡Muy, muy pequeño! Our beds were shoved together to make room.

In my trips to Europe before, I discovered that rooms tended towards the miniscule, but I forget how small they were. I know that America is the land of the “big” but it’s a bit of a shock to see how people make do with such tiny rooms in other countries. I guess you just do, and it’s not half-bad. Of course, I’m a messy person, so it wasn’t easy.

There was also this:

Bidet!

It is called a bidet, and it’s meant to, as one travel website puts delicately, clean the parts that are not often tanned. En mi casa, we have bidets attached to our toilets, but the bidet is separate mostly in Europe. I think I finally figured out how to use it!

Also, it was in the hotel, I discovered that my universal adaptor was not so universal. As in, most European electrical outlets are round in nature, as opposed to square. Had to tramp off to El Corte Inglés (think department store + Best Buy + Barnes & Noble + Kroger + Walgreen’s) to buy another one for 8 euros. For obvious reasons, I was  not pleased.

To sum it up, European hotel rooms occasionally need adjusting to. But hey, all you really need is a a clean bed and a clean bathroom, and that’s what a hotel is there for. You really don’t need noisy neighbors, though. 

¡Muy cómoda!

About Anna Cabe

I'm your average over-stressed Asian-American overachiever, your typical moderately talented wannabe writer, your everyday nerd with subpar social skills. I'm pretty boring really.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “En Madrid: Parte Uno

  1. Sounds like I could live forever in one of those “El Corte Ingles” stores. Food, electronics, and a Barnes and Nobles?! Yes, please!

    Posted by Flyingthaiguy | June 8, 2011, 2:32 pm
  2. Corte Ingles is a one stop shop & More– talk about sensory overload! love your stories & pictures– Oviedo looks charming esp. the sculptures and the tiny streets.
    By the way we have stayed in an NH hotel chain before in amsterdam— did your hotel have great shampoos?

    Posted by claudine | June 9, 2011, 10:01 pm
    • Yeah, the NH hotel had really sweet shampoos, soaps, and other bath accessories. Usually, hotel soaps are hard on my skin and hair, but I didn’t have that problem for once.

      I wish the Corte Inglés was in America. 😦

      Oviedo is very, very, mona. (“Mono/a” is the approximate Spanish word for charming or cute) I absolutely adore it.

      Posted by annaisabe | June 10, 2011, 9:17 am
  3. Hola Anna this is Grandma. Estamos en la casa de Claudine. Porque Marc es taking his ACT exam. I enjoyed reading your stories.
    take care mi carisima ! Grandma

    Posted by claudine | June 11, 2011, 11:02 am

Leave a Reply

My comments do not represent the views, positions, or opinions of the Fulbright Program, any of its partner institutions, or the United States Department of State.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other followers

Archives

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
