//
you're reading...
Food and Drink, Spain, Uncategorized

En Madrid: Parte Dos


¡Las comida y bebida!

May 31 – June 4, 2011

Agnes Scott provided dos meals a day in Madrid, el desayuno at the hotel and either el almuerzo or la cena. The comida were tasty but, I had (and have) to get used to some things, though:

1.)  Meals are looonnnngggg.

We would spend hours at meals. Seriously, even when we were touring multiple sites in Toledo with no time to waste, we spent much more than a hour eating lunch and conversing. Sure, I like leisurely meals, but being the perky workaholic that I am, it was a bit of an adjustment.

Con mis amigas a la Restaurante Los Galayos.

2.)  ¡Vino! ¡Sangria! ¡Alcohol!

Imagine my shock when the first non-agua beverage I was ever served was sangria. I know that Europe is casual when it comes to alcohol, but it was still surprising.

¡Mi primero sangria en España a Taberna Toscana!

Needless to say, I’m getting used to it. First, sangria, even though it was initially invented to make bad red wine drinkable, is freaking awesome and refreshing. Second, we were served vinos rojos y blancos at Restaurante Los Galayos in the Plaza Mayor. My wine lessons with my uncles have really paid off; I may not know too much but I can tell a good red when I drink it (not too dry. . .)

3.)  ¡Mucha comida!

Why are there so many courses? Traditionally, desayuno is very small, but with a breakfast buffet at the hotel, I stuffed myself with pan, café, chocolate, frutas y queso cada día.

More traditionally, I had three courses at all the meals in the restaurant. Most of the time, the options were pretty similar:  gazpacho, paella, ensalada, croquetas, etc., for the first course, pollo, ternera, pasta, o pescado  for the second, and scads of things for dessert, mostly fruit, pastries, and helado.

I got very full.

Then, there were tapas. . .when mis amigas and I ate tapas at nearby La Terraza de Suchil, estaban muy deliciosas y pequeñas pero había muchos platos.

Las croquetas de jamón y patatas fritas en La Terraza de Suchil.

Patatas aioli a La Terraza de Suchil.

3.  ¿Patatas?

I did not realize españoles liked potatoes so much. I had them with nearly every primary course and with huevos in tortilla española. I like potatoes, too, thankfully, or I would have been tired of the patatas fritas.

Las chicas felices a la Restaurante Los Galayos.

Mi restaurante favorita? I loved the Restaurante Los Galayos best because it was just so delish and fancy compared to other places at which we ate. I also liked the Italian Restaurante Nabucco where I had lasagna, eggplant, agua con gas, and the most glorious tiramisu.

Now, más comida y bebidas!

¡Pan! A staple. This one was shaped like a doughnut. Taberna Toscana.

Estoy comiendo gazpacho. Taberna Toscana.

Lasagna. Restaurante Nabucco.

Now, for dessert!

If your mouth isn't watering when you're looking at this tiramisu, I don't think we can be friends. For serious. Restaurante Nabucco.

Feel like you ate a little too much? I can’t find a for-sure description on the Internet, but mi amiga Sarah said that these . . .shots at the Taberna Toscana were for indigestion. Can anyone enlighten us?

NOT the shots you're thinking. I don't know what was in it: Licorice? Cough syrup? Alcohol? All those flavors were in there.

About Anna Cabe

I'm your average over-stressed Asian-American overachiever, your typical moderately talented wannabe writer, your everyday nerd with subpar social skills. I'm pretty boring really.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: ¡La Espicha!: What do you mean I can drink (legally) in Spain? « Anna Adventures Abroad - June 24, 2011

Leave a Reply

My comments do not represent the views, positions, or opinions of the Fulbright Program, any of its partner institutions, or the United States Department of State.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other followers

Archives

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
