//
you're reading...
Architecture, Art, Everyday Life, History, Nature, Politics and Current Events, Religion, Spain

Ser una turista: Parte dos


Of course, I had a million stories as una turista en España. More in Oviedo, where I lived for a month, and more in Asturga, in León, in the Picos de Europa, in Cangas de Onís, in Covadonga. . .

I didn't realize this old medieval wall was right next to my casa until two weeks into the program. How cool is that? (And how unobservant am I?)

I often walked through the winding, cobbled calles around my casa. Here, I discovered an overgrown jardín up a steep set of stairs near an old medical building. I also saw un gato negro as I turned around to snap a picture, one of two I encountered on my trip. Bad luck? Well, once I accidentally wore my shirt turned inside out to class, so that canceled out the one that did walk across my path.

A strange and wonderfully intricate building I discovered wandering around the calles near my casa. I have no idea what it is.

One of the many indignados in the calles of the ciudades of España. It's disheartening to see how frustrated and uncertain the young people of España are.

La foguera de San Juan. It started burning at midnight on June 23, and with all the people crammed in the Catedral's plaza, it seemed like a hazard with all the ash raining down. For luck, when the fire burns down a bit, jump over it. However, most people stick to writing what they would like in their life and what they would like to be burned away on a sheet of paper and throwing it in.

In Asturga, we ran into this man who decided to appoint himself our guía. As in, he would literally poke and prod at us to move in certain formations while loudly informing us in español what we were looking at: la Via de la Plata, Roman ruins, an old Roman vantage point. . .

Graffiti is everywhere in España. This deceptively simple one caught my eye in León.

Covadonga is the site of the famous battle led by Don Pelayo in which the moros were defeated, and la Reconquista began. Now, there is a church, a statue of Don Pelayo, a museum, and a shrine. Here, Katie and I accidentally walked in on a wedding in the pink church seen through this opening.

My favorite universidad-led excursion was the trip to the lagos de los Picos de Europa. You can't see it in the picture, but cows were everywhere and left their patties. Still, nothing could mar a sight like this. Nothing.

This is the train station at La Corredoria. Those little buildings in the distance are horreos, Asturian granaries on stilts. Someone in my group became convinced that there were naked people under them. It was an. . .interesting conversation.

In the old Asturian capital, Cangas de Onís, there is a replica of the Cruz de Victoria, which Don Pelayo carried at the Batalla de Covadonga. We ended up wading into the cool and refreshing Rio Sella. The calm water was wonderful for our aching feet.

Weddings happened all summer in Oviedo. Here, the newlyweds' getaway coche was covered with post-it notes.

Again, more statues in Oviedo. This is called Libertad. Profe joked that he would be like "Libertad" when he was finally free of the eleven women he was saddled with all of junio.

While walking through the Campo de San Francisco to meet some friends, I found this antique car show that was going on. ¡Muchos coches pequeños y monos!

I went to the (free!) Museo de Bellas Artes four or five times. There were El Grecos and Goyas and Dalis and Picassos and a jawdropping altarpiece in which Santa Marina gets eaten by a dragon and rescued by an angel. But this one is still causing me to scratch my head. I don't understand this artsy obsession with breastfeeding.

My last day in Oviedo, I was trying to find the Museo Arqueológico de Asturias. I stumbled upon this unexpected jardín. I think it's for a restaurant or cooking school or something of that nature.

These are some ancient cannonballs in the (free!) Museo Arqueológico de Asturias. One of my favorite memories will always be the conversation I had with the security guard and guide in the museum: why all museums in Oviedo are free (More local visitors?), what I am studying in college (English. . .long story), where I was living (in the old center near the Catedral), why I was in Spain (because I wanted to learn the language and culture; because I love Spain), and what I want to see when I return (Sevilla, la Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, Alhambra in Granada. . .).

About Anna Cabe

I'm your average over-stressed Asian-American overachiever, your typical moderately talented wannabe writer, your everyday nerd with subpar social skills. I'm pretty boring really.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My comments do not represent the views, positions, or opinions of the Fulbright Program, any of its partner institutions, or the United States Department of State.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other followers

Archives

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
