//
you're reading...
Preparations, School, United Kingdom

Counting Down the Days: On the Fear of the Unknown and Being Alone


A month from today, on January 22, 2012, I will be setting foot for the first time in Glasgow, Scotland.

These are my feelings.

However, even though I’ve traveled a lot before, this will be the first time I will be almost entirely on my own in a foreign country. Except for another girl from Agnes with whom I’m only acquainted, I will know no one abroad.

And that’s terrifying.

Even though I know I could always run to the study abroad coordinator at Strathclyde if stuff goes wrong or at the last resort, contact the Agnes Scott Office of International Education or even home, I’m still, largely, alone for everyday things.

I know I’ll have an orientation when I get there, and that’s comforting. Still, it’s occurred to me that I will have to figure out where to buy food (don’t have a meal plan!) and budget that out, as well as learn how to get around an unfamiliar city and country and probably other things and expenses I can’t think of right now.

There will be neither friends nor family to help me in this far-off place.

But that’s what study abroad’s for, right? To learn how to handle myself in unfamiliar territory?

Even rationally knowing that, I’ve been feeling a nervousness I hadn’t felt as I was buying air tickets and filling out the dozens of forms ISEP and the University’s been throwing at me (my health insurance includes coverage for the “repatriation of remains?”). I guess school and exams had been cushioning me from that reality.

There’s not much I can do, though, except to prepare extensively  and hope for the best. I may not be able to control my fear, but I can control my response to it.

Knowledge is power!

About Anna Cabe

I'm your average over-stressed Asian-American overachiever, your typical moderately talented wannabe writer, your everyday nerd with subpar social skills. I'm pretty boring really.

Discussion

One thought on “Counting Down the Days: On the Fear of the Unknown and Being Alone

  1. Finally, Anna Adventures Abroad continues!!
    You’ll find a way to live independently for sure.

    That being said, I think you’ll make a lot of new friends once there who will help you adjust. I’m looking forward to reading about the crazy-awesome adventures you get into!

    Posted by Flyingthaiguy | December 22, 2011, 6:40 pm

Leave a Reply

My comments do not represent the views, positions, or opinions of the Fulbright Program, any of its partner institutions, or the United States Department of State.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other followers

Archives

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
