//
you're reading...
Food and Drink, Preparations, Transportation and Traveling, United Kingdom

Why one should always have a sturdy suitcase


So I made it to Scotland!

Besides the jet lag and the scurrying around to get registered for class and stuff, I have been slowly adjusting to life here at the University of Strathclyde. Still, getting here wasn’t so easy.

Replacement suitcase. I hardly knew ya, blue suitcase.

Thus, today, I will extol the importance of one thing while traveling:  the sturdy suitcase.

Not just one but both my carry-on and checked bag destroyed themselves during the journey. How?

When I made it to Memphis International Airport for the first leg of my approximately 16-hour journey, I was happily carrying a small blue rolling suitcase and a big green duffle on wheels.

Before I even got through security, my blue suitcase handle suddenly got stuck and refused to move up, no matter who was pulling at it, me, Mom, or Dad.

And so, I was forced to buy a new suitcase at the airport shop. At least it was cute and red and built out of solid plastic.

Last American meal in America (in Dallas, y'all).

The rest of my journey was surprisingly stress-free, or so I thought. All my flights were on-time; once, we even arrived a few minutes early. Since I was traveling to an English-speaking country, I could understand all the signs in each airport (Dallas-Ft. Worth, London Heathrow, and Glasgow International). No one on my flights was unduly annoying

First caramel latte in the UK (in London-town. . .erm, airport).

except that I was on the aisle, so I had to get up frequently to allow a woman to go to the bathroom. My trip through British immigration took all of ten minutes and a single stamp in my passport for student visitor; I even had enough time between flights to get fast food and

coffee, which isn’t always possible.

However, when I made it to Glasgow, I was incredibly excited to be there after such a long trip. After bundling myself up in a proper scarf, I tramped over to the baggage claim, eager to claim my bag and meet my fellow international students. . .

. . .And then I saw my suitcase.

NOOOOooooo!

And so, the first thing I ever said to people at Strathclyde was, “Does anyone have any tape?”

I was lucky enough that nothing valuable (or anything, really) seems to have been lost. Still, who expects their suitcase to split mid-flight?

Thus, keep in mind, one and all:  Always have a sturdy suitcase!

About Anna Cabe

I'm your average over-stressed Asian-American overachiever, your typical moderately talented wannabe writer, your everyday nerd with subpar social skills. I'm pretty boring really.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

My comments do not represent the views, positions, or opinions of the Fulbright Program, any of its partner institutions, or the United States Department of State.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other followers

Archives

January 2012
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
