//
you're reading...
Fulbright / Indonesia, Preparation

Drum Roll, Please. . .


I’ve been remiss in my updates, but one month ago, I found out whether or not I am going to Indonesia.

Wait for it. . .

YES

YES

In actuality, I was not the first one to find out my application status, since I was at the Southeastern Writing Center Association Conference in Fort Lauderdale, FL. It was in the morning, and I had just finished a training session. Earlier that day, I had successfully presented research with a group of Agnes Scott College Center for Writing and Speaking tutors. I was already flying pretty high, as you can imagine.

As I was walking to the lobby, I caught sight of some of my coworkers and began to advance towards them.

Out of the corner of my eye, I saw my boss and the former Agnes Scott Fulbright Program Director, Dr. Cozzens, barreling towards me.

“Have you checked your email?” she asked.

I shook my head. Before I knew it, she was gripping my shoulders and shaking me.

“You got Fulbright! You’re going to Indonesia,” she was shouting.

I suddenly felt really wobbly. “I think I’m going to faint,” I said.

Turns out Dr. Cozzens was excited, because I’m the first accepted applicant she ever got to notify. Dr. Artese, the current Fulbright Program Director, emailed her as soon as got the news.

My fellow tutors crowded around me as I loaded my email on my iPhone. As Dr. Cozzens said after, I don’t tend to believe things until I see it with my own eyes. I saw the subject line, asking, “What does P mean?”

Once I saw the “Congratulations!” I started bouncing and shrieking and haven’t really stopped since.

The amount of support and excitement I got and am getting still surprises me. Dr. Cozzens even told me that when she got the email, she was with a group of SWCA board members who started to cry with her, even though as one put it, “I don’t even know her.”

Part of the reason I hadn’t informed y’all yet was because I still wasn’t “official” until I sent in my acceptance on March 6. And after that, I sent in my first batch of paperwork to Indonesia and am working on the New York documents now. Also, I’m lazy and busy all the time.

But now you know!

I’m still trying to decide if I’m going to switch to a new website for Indonesia. I’m leaning towards a yes because this is going to be for a year, as opposed to a few months or weeks or days. So wait for that.

One more thing:  One of the traditions at Agnes Scott College is that if you get a job offer or graduate school or fellowship acceptance, you get to ring the bell in the belltower in Main Hall and sign your name on the wall. On March 1, with five other lovely ASC ladies, I did just that. Irene Foran, from Career Planning, told us the tradition is four rings for four years. I pulled hard on the rope, and after a few false starts, the bell started to sonorously sing. When I heard it peal, I felt like something momentous was happening.

The bell is harder to ring than you think!

The bell is harder to ring than you think!

So many names, so many years, so much history.

So many names, so many years, so much history.

About Anna Cabe

I'm your average over-stressed Asian-American overachiever, your typical moderately talented wannabe writer, your everyday nerd with subpar social skills. I'm pretty boring really.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: In which I introduce myself and start the countdown | Sojourner in Sumatra - August 25, 2013

Leave a Reply

My comments do not represent the views, positions, or opinions of the Fulbright Program, any of its partner institutions, or the United States Department of State.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 652 other followers

Archives

March 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
